Alan Matheson

Executive Director

Alan Matheson is the executive director of The Point of the Mountain State Land Authority. He is charged with preparing for and overseeing the development of nearly 600 acres of state land called The Point. Matheson previously served the State of Utah as Executive Director of the Utah Department of Environmental Quality, Senior Environmental Policy Advisor to Governor Gary R. Herbert, and State Planning Coordinator.

Before joining state employment, Matheson worked in the private sector focusing on regional planning and law, serving as Executive Director of Envision Utah, founding Director of the Utah Water Project, shareholder in a Phoenix law firm, Senior Attorney and Environmental Policy Advisor for Arizona’s largest electric utility, and law clerk for a federal Court of Appeals judge. Matheson holds an A.B. in International Relations from Stanford University and a J.D. from the UCLA School of Law, where he was an editor of the UCLA Law Review. He has served on dozens of community and state boards and has consulted with several regions around the country on strategies to address the challenges of growth.

Scott Cuthbertson

Operations Director

Scott Cuthbertson is the operations director of The Point of the Mountain State Land Authority. He is responsible for heading all operational aspects of The Point. Cuthbertson comes from the management consulting industry where he was a director in PricewaterhouseCoopers capital projects and infrastructure group and a senior consultant at Booz Allen.

While in the private sector, Cuthbertson specialized in the management of major capital investment programs as advisor to institutional investors, multi-national developers, Fortune 5 technology firms and public sector agencies on projects as large as $25B USD. His work spanned North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Cuthbertson received a B.Sc. degree from BYU, a Master’s degree in Real Estate Development from Georgetown University, and an M.Sc. degree from the University of Oxford’s Business School. He has served on multiple boards and is a published thought leader in the field of real estate, infrastructure and smart cities.

Steven Kellenberg

Planning Director

Steven Kellenberg is the planning director for The Point of the Mountain State Land Authority. He oversees planning efforts for The Point. An urban planner and designer with over 40 years of experience in new communities, mixed use town centers, business parks and large-scale development, Kellenberg brings a crucial level of expertise and leadership to The Point.

He heads Kellenberg Studio, a boutique planning and urban design firm that provides senior advisory services and utilizes affiliatons with other firms and practitioners to respond to unique town planning and redevelopment assignments. Prior to joining The Point, Kellenberg formerly served Daybreak Communities in Salt Lake City as well as Rancho Mission Viejo in California as a Senior Advisor as well as Irvine Company in Newport Beach as Senior Vice President.

Jefferson Moss

Innovation District Project Director

Jefferson Moss is The Point’s Innovation District Project Director. In this capacity, he leads the Utah System of Higher Education‘s involvement in the major economic development efforts at The Point. Moss is responsible for overseeing the strategic initiatives and day-to-day operations at the Innovation District. He will work in close consultation with The Point Executive Director and Operations Director to help implement practical solutions that improve Utahns’ quality of life.

Formerly, Moss served as AVP of central advancement at UVU and the COO for the UVU Foundation. In these positions, he launched the UVU Wolverine Fund, a student-run venture capital fund, and the Excellence and Innovation Initiative. Prior to UVU, Moss served as a wealth strategist at Key Bank and Credit Suisse and launched several successful businesses. He received his Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Master of Business Administration from Brigham Young University. He currently serves in the Utah House of Representatives and previously served on the Utah State Board of Education and the Saratoga Springs City Council and Planning Commission. Learn more about him and his role at