Education, Research & Innovation Working


Dave Woolstenhulme - Co-Chair

Dave R. Woolstenhulme, Ed.D, became Commissioner of Higher Education on July 1, 2020, after serving as Interim Commissioner of Higher Education since July 2019 for the Utah System of Higher Education. Previously, he worked as vice president of statewide campuses for Utah State University and as the Utah Commissioner of Technical Education. As the CEO of the Utah System of Technical Colleges, he provided state-level leadership and oversight for the eight technical colleges in Utah. He also served as executive vice provost at USU and president of Uintah Basin Applied Technology College. Woolstenhulme received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Utah State University and his Doctorate of Education from the University of Wyoming.

Steve Handy - Co-Chair

Representative Stephen Handy represents Utah’s 16th legislative House District after being appointed by Governor Gary Herbert in April 2010. He was originally appointed by Governor Gary Herbert in April 2010. Professionally, he owns a public relations and marketing business which he opened in 2002 after 17 years in newspaper marketing. He previously held marketing director positions for both the Standard Examiner and Deseret News.

Lisa Berreau - Utah State University

Dr. Lisa Berreau is a vice president for research and a professor of inorganic chemistry at Utah State University. She holds a PhD in Inorganic Chemistry from Iowa State University as well as a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry from Mankato State University. Her teaching interests include undergraduate and graduate inorganic chemistry, bioinorganic chemistry, and various outreach activities with USU Chem Club.

Jonathon Bates - University of Utah

Jonathon Bates is the executive director of Real Estate Administration for the University of Utah. He was formerly the Property Manager of Williams in Tulsa, Oklahoma. He holds a Master of Business Administration as well as a Bachelor of Science in Finance from the University of Utah.

Diogo Myrrha - Album VC

Diogo Myrrha is a general partner at Album VC. Myrrha serves as a board member of Latitude Games. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree is Economics from Brigham Young University.

Keith Marmer - University of Utah Tech Ventures

Keith Marmer’s strong leadership skills come from 30 years of experience as an inventor, entrepreneur, and investor. Overseeing operations for the University of Utah Center for Technology & Venture Commercialization, Keith’s passion for innovation has helped countless ideas get the momentum they need to succeed. He has three patents, launched four companies, and helped entrepreneurs raise more than $500 million in investment capital. An avid skier, hiker and traveler, he has visited almost all 50 states and more than forty countries.


Kelvyn Cullimore - BioUtah

Kelvyn Cullimore is the current president and CEO of BioUtah. Previously, he was the director and CEO of Dynatronics Corporation as well as the secretary and director of The Medical Device Manufacturers Association. Cullimore has served as the mayor of Cottonwood Heights, Utah since 2005.

Derek White - US Bank

Derek White is vice chair and chief digital officer at US Bank. He previously worked as the global head of client solutions for BBVA. He holds an MBA from the University of Philadelphia and a Bachelor of Arts from Utah State University.

Brenner Adams - Med USA

Brenner Adams is the chief innovation officer at Med USA, co-founder and CEO of The Link Group, and an adjunct professor at the University of Utah. He holds a Master of Business Administration from the University of Utah.

Donna Milakovic - Utah Valley University

Donna Milakovic is the senior director of community outreach at Utah Valley University. She previously served as the executive vice president of the Utah Valley Chamber of Commerce. She holds an MBA from Utah Valley University and a B.A. from Brigham Young University.

Nathan Lee - Utah Department of Transportation

Nathan Lee is the director of technology and innovation at the Utah Department of Transportation. He has over 20 years of experience working with the public sector at the state and local level. Lee is a professional engineer and earned his degree in civil and environmental engineering from Utah State University. He is also a graduate of the AASHTO National Transportation Leadership Institute at the Indiana School of Public and Environmental Affairs.

Randy Rasmussen - BioFire Diagnostics

Randy Rasmussen is the president and COO of BioFire Diagnostics, Inc. He holds a PhD from the University of Utah and a Bachelor of Science from Utah State University.

Gary Crocker - Crocker Ventures

Gary L. Crocker is president of Crocker Ventures, an independent, privately held life science and healthcare investment firm that funds promising seed- and early-stage life science companies. He is also chairman of Merrimack Pharmaceuticals, an innovative and rapidly growing predictive medicine oncology drug company. He received his BA and MBA from Harvard University.

Jeffery Nelson - Nelson Laboratories

Jeffery Nelson is the president and CEO of Nelson Laboratories, LLC. He also serves as a board member of the Talent Ready Utah Board. He earned his MBA from Westminster College.

Michael Lacourse - Dixie State University

Michael Lacourse is provost and vice president of academic affairs at Dixie State University. 

Carine Strom Clark - Banyan Software

Carine Strom Clark is the president and CEO of Banyan Software. She holds an MBA and a BA from Brigham Young University.

Chris Klomp - Collective Medical

Chris Klomp is the CEO of Collective Medical and Partner at Endurance Companies. He holds an MBA from Stanford and a B.A. from Brigham Young University.

James Clarke - Clarke Capital Partners

James Clarke is the managing partner of Clarke Capital Partners, a global growth equity and alternatives investment firm headquartered in Provo, Utah. Clarke is an alumnus of BYU, Harvard Business School, and the University of Oxford.

 Meeting Materials