Public Engagement

The Point is owned by all Utahns. Because of this, Utahns will continue to have meaningful opportunities to participate in planning the site. We are committed to working closely with local communities, businesses, organizations and other stakeholders to ensure the best outcomes. View survey results, meeting materials and a schedule of upcoming opportunities below. 


A special thanks to the thousands of Utahns who participated in our statewide survey. The survey asked a series of questions regarding transportation, land use, retail, entertainment, housing, parks, trails, open space and many other important elements of the draft plan. The overwhelming majority of respondents stated that they were looking forward to development at The Point. Priorities for elements of the draft plan were identified and have been implemented by our planning team. 

View the results below to see what Utahns are saying about The Point!

Survey Results


In order to gather valuable feedback and guidance from key stakeholders, The Point’s Stakeholder Advisory Committee was formed. The committee is composed of a broad and diverse group of influential stakeholders, including leaders of nonprofits, universities and local governments. The committee met in March and in April 2021.

Heather Upshaw - Herriman City

Heather Upshaw is the economic development manager at the City of Herriman. She holds a Bachelor's degree in marketing management from Western Governors University.

Ze Min Xiao - Salt Lake County

Ze Min Xiao is the director of the Mayor's Office for New Americans at Salt Lake County. She also serves as community innovation manager at the Office of Community Innovation Partnerships. She has previously served as assistant director of the Women’s Business Center of the Salt Lake Chamber. She holds a Master of Art in community leadership from Westminster College. 

Crys Lee - Bike Utah

Crys Lee is the executive director of Bike Utah. Prior to this role, she has served as executive director of Empower Playgrounds, Inc. and the marketing assistant for the Romney Institute of Public Management. She earned an MPA in social innovation from Brigham Young University. 

Shivam Shah - Draper City Diversity & Inclusion Board

Shivam Shah is the director of operations and co-founder of Brixton Partners, LLC. He previously worked at Progrexion as a data engineer over marketing analytics. He holds a Bachelor of Computer Science from the University of Tampa. 

Tim Sheehan - Salt Lake Community College

Tim Sheehan serves as the Vice President of Government and Community Relations for Salt Lake Community College. In that role he provides leadership for the college and oversees federal, state and local government relations. Tim also has government relations experience in the private sector, having worked as the government relations manager for two different companies. He has a bachelor's degree in political science and a master's degree in public administration from Brigham Young University.

Todd Brightwell - Advisors Consulting Services

Todd Brightwell is the co-founder as well as president and CEO of Advisors Consulting Services. Before establishing Advisors Consulting Services, Todd was the COO of the Economic Development Corporation of Utah (EDCUtah) for more than a decade. He has served on many boards throughout the state and is currently the executive director of the Utah Woolen Mills “Suited for Good” foundation.

Carolyn Sharette - American Preparatory Schools

Carolyn Sharette is the executive director at American Preparatory Schools. 

Ty McCutcheon - Daybreak Communities

Ty McCutcheon is the president and CEO of Daybreak Communities. He has served as a vice chair and executive committee member of Envision Utah and treasurer of the Utah Property Rights Coalition. He received his BA in Economics from Occidental College in Los Angeles.

Robin Carbaugh - Carbaugh Associates

Robin Carbaugh is the president of Carbaugh Associates. She earned her Master of Urban Planning from the University of Utah. 

Ibi Guevara - Urban Land Institute Utah

Ibi Guevara is chair for the Utah District Council of the Urban Land Institute (ULI Utah) and vice president of business development and marketing at Hunt Electric. Previously, she has worked as a sales manager for Sales Consulting. She holds an MBA in marketing and business management from Colorado Technical University. 

Stephen Alfandre - Urban Alfandre

Stephen Alfandre is a founding principal of Urban Alfandre. Prior to this role, he worked with the Bozzuto Group to manage residential developments. Stephen received an MBA in real estate and entrepreneurship from Georgetown University.

Tara Rollins - Utah Housing Coalition

Tara Rollins is the executive director of the Utah Housing Coalition. 

Michael Hathorne -

Michael Hathorne is the president of - a community planning & design firm. He has served on the Board of Directors for CNU Utah and previously served as chairman of the Local Host Committee for CNU 21. He holds a Masters degree in urban & environmental planning from Arizona State University.

Christian Gardner - The Gardner Company

Christian Gardner is the chair of the University of Utah's Board of Trustees and president and CEO of The Gardner Company. Chrisitan is active in many community and charitable causes including the Board of Directors of the United Way and the Salt Lake Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. He earned a Master of Science in real estate development from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 

Clay Christensen - Mountainland Technical College

Clay Christensen is the president of Mountainland Technical College. Prior to this role, he has served as CTE director at Alpine School District. He holds a Master of Science in agriculture education from Utah State University. 

Ryan Smith - Oakwood Homes

Ryan Smith is the division president of Oakwood Homes, LLC. Prior to this role, he has served as division president of Beazer Homes and general manager of Shea Homes. He earned his MBA in financial analysis and real estate development from the University of Southern Carolina. 

Troy D’Ambrosio - University of Utah

Troy D'Ambrosio is currently the executive director of the Lassonde Entrepreneur Institute at the University of Utah, an assistant dean of the David Eccles School of Business and holds a presidential chair in entrepreneurship. 


Jack Hedge - Utah Inland Port Authority

Jack Hedge is currently the executive director of the Utah Inland Port Authority. Prior to this role, he served as director of the Port of Los Angeles. 


Michael Adler - Brigham Young University

Michael Alder is director of the Office Technology Transfer for Brigham Young University. He previously served as CEO of Emerging Technology Partners. 


Stakeholder Advisory Committee Meeting I
Stakeholder Advisory Committee Meeting II


  • Milestone Workshop I- Thursday, January 28 from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Milestone Workshop II- Thursday, March 4 from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.

  • Stakeholder Advisory Committee Meeting I – Thursday, March 11 from  2 p.m. to 4 p.m.

  • Open House I – March 18 from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.

  • Milestone Workshop III/Working Group Meetings- Tuesday, March 23, 24, 25 (regularly scheduled working group meetings)

  • Stakeholder Advisory Committee Meeting II- Thursday, April 15 from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Milestone Workshop IV- Thursday, April 29 from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Open House II – Tuesday, May 4 from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m.

  • Open House III – Thursday, May 20 from 2 p.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Milestone Workshop V- Thursday, May 27 from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.

  • Final Milestone Workshop – Thursday, July 29 from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.
  • The Point Public Open House – Thursday, August 12 from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m.